“Perhaps nowhere in the world was there a garret exactly like the Crow’s Nest; fifty-nine steps from street level up the outside of an old store building – officially named the Seagoing Officers’ Club and open to officers of the allied fighting ships and the merchant navy. Reminiscences went round the world, and doubtless still are on the wing, of the loud and smoky room where ship’s crests and bells and trophies hung thick on the wall and where women were allowed on Tuesday nights only, provided they do not clutter up the bar.”

– Joseph Schull, The Far Distant Ships

The Crow’s Nest is a private club which has been in operation for 70 years. Beginning as a club for visiting and stationed Navy officers during World War II, the Crow’s Nest is rich in history; the club has become a museum of sorts, housing hundreds of military artifacts.

The Crow’s Nest Officers’ Club is a National Historic Site for its World War II character and its significant collection of military artifacts. Provincially, the Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador has presented to the Club the Manning Award for Excellence in the Public Presentation of Historic Places. The Crow’s Nest Military Artifacts Association is recognized as a museum by the Museum Association of Newfoundland and Labrador and a participant in the Virtual Museum of Canada.

The Organization

The Club is governed by a Board of Directors elected annually in May. The Board’s mandate includes:

    • Communications: Scuttlebutt newsletter, website, Club brochure, media contacts
    • Membership: review and acceptance of applications
    • Club services: management of catering contract, entertainment, marketing, Club functions
    • Finance and fundraising
    • Property: Club premises and equipment
    • Military Liaison: with serving military, ship visits, local institutions

In 1987 the Club assigned its historic and military assets and memorabilia to the Crow’s Nest Military Artifacts Association Inc., a separate entity constituted for the purposes of preserving and maintaining custody of such assets and memorabilia. The Artifacts Association is also governed by a board of directors.


Membership in the Crow’s Nest provides access to the club facilities, invitations to dining and commemorative events, and a subscription to the Scuttlebutt newsletter. To become a member of the Crow’s Nest view our information on membership and click here.

Supporting The Crow’s Nest

The Crow’s Nest’s operations are funded primarily through memberships and donations. If you would like to donate to The Crow’s Nest you can contact us directly about your interest.

Inside the Crow's Nest

Current Board of Directors

Jon Summers

Dave Paddon

Stephanie O’Brien 

Margaret Morris

Immediate Past President
Gary Walsh

CNMAA President
Bruce Bennett

Current Directors
Leroy Murphy
Tom Paddon
Bruce Dyke
Andrew Collins
Tom Horrocks

Stephen Lee
Brian O’Connell
Robin Blatch
Angie Barrington

Ex Officio:
Bruce Bennett, President, CNMAA

Past Directors

1942-45 | Various Naval Officers
1946-50 | Colonel the Honourable Sir Leonard C Outerbridge
1950-51 | R.A. Murphy
1952-53 | G.H. Bastow
1953-54 | J.C. Grieve
1954-55 | G. Renie
1955-56 | M.S.E. Hope
1956-57 | O. Goodridge
1957-58 | F.A. O’Dea
1958-59 | F.C. Anderson
1959-60 | A. Mc Dermot
1960-61 | F.W. Ayre
1961-62 | E.G. Godden
1962-63 | J. Templeton
1963-64 | J.V. Coyle
1964-65 | D.C. Hunt
1965-66 | M.S.E. Hope
1966-67 | J.V. Coyle
1967-68 | R. Juby
1968-69 | G. Hilz
1969-70 | W. Bremmer
1970-71 | E.G. Godden
1972-73 | W.W. Long
1973-74 | G. Douglas

1974-75 | J.W. Conway
1975-77 | R. Butler
1977-78 | E. Winter
1978-79 | P.M. Grimes
1979-80 | A. Vivian
1980-81 | D.C. Perry
1981-82 | G. Carter
1982-83 | M.B. Dempster
1983-84 | P.J. McNichlolas
1984-85 | D.C. Hogan
1985-86 | M. Drover
1986-87 | R. Andrews
1987-88 | H.D. Bishop
1988-89 | C. Karasek
1989-90 | H. Peden
1990-92 | F.G. Pierpoint
1992-94 | R. Snow
1994-95 | N. Stokes
1995-97 | R. L. Kavanagh
1997-99 | C. Barlow
1999-00 | P. Clarke
2000-02 | R. Croucher-Wiles
2002-04 | D.A. Taylor
2004-05 | J.P. Andrews
2005-07 | D. Hyslop
2007-09 | J. Moyes
2009-11 | G. Green
2011-14 | T. Dearness
2014-17 | M.A. Morris